Another Still Life 

becoming

I decided there was nothing to lose by trying some new techniques with this one. Here are the results. I’m quite happy!

It’s much stronger and braver now. I brought back some of my original compositional elements and got much less literal with the leaves. It’s interesting to see how much more alive the piece is now. 

Here’s from before: 

 This has been a really hard piece. So much going on! 

It’s not quite done yet. There are still a few areas to clarify and I need to bump up the reflected light on the small vase. I think I’m in danger of overworking it though so I’m going to let it rest. After it dries a week I think I’ll be able to reinvigorate it again. 

In the meantime I’m ready for something simpler and without too many leaves!

Leave a Reply

