A still life for the week

becoming

 I’m working on getting my drawing and painting to come together more. I think if I can achieve in my painting some of what I get from my drawings it will make the paintings stronger. I was really conscious in this piece of creating the form out of tone and looseness. In my drawings I erase as much as I put down. In this piece, I scraped back a lot. I also tried not to iterate everything; let some things be unstated. Or understated… I think I got closer to the feel of my drawings. One real challenge is finding time to paint during the week.

I may still tweak this piece a bit once this layer dries… I think I need to darken the bit behind the dish a hair and up the shadows slightly…

Leave a Reply

