Thumbnails

becoming, Sketches

So I am starting a new piece. Rather than jump right into the painting, I decided to follow my plan to do thumbnails sketches first. This will be followed by a color study and then I will work the final piece. 

I’m so glad I did this. Even just from the thumbnails I can tell the piece will be better. 

This is the first one. It is what I would have painted. 

There were a few I tossed out, but here’s the third.

And the fifth.

I was pushing myself to do six. I had planned for a 14×18 canvas, but after doing the thumbnails I thought I should try a square. 

This one is the sixth.

I may do studies for #2, 5 & 6. 

Maybe even #1. It’s not so bad, and a good reference point to go with the series. I am so excited about this. This new process has already blown my work out of the water and I haven’t even set brush to canvas. Sure there will be challenges, but the composition of these pieces is stronger, so no matter what happens with the rest of it, the pieces will be stronger too.

Plus, I won’t have to be struggling to find a subject for a while… I’ll post updates as the work comes along…

Leave a Reply

