Zena Cornfield 

Landscape, Oil, Painting

In one hour… This is actually my first plein air painting. One hour was the time limit. There is a lot of prep for this. We’re still figuring out the logistics of how to do this, but it was fun! The results are a little rough. Need to work on that too I guess.

Here it is after another 2 hours at home. I started by oiling it out and then began refining things. The trees are still stylized, as is the field, but the brush strokes are less coarse and the color is more accurate to the day and the experience in the field. We really did have a nice time. This is an excellent way to remember it. If I were to do it again, I’d change the composition to include more sky. It could use less foreground.

As this piece is drying, I can see that it is a high quality piece. I am happy with it.

Leave a Reply

